"LIFE'S TOO SHORT TO EAT BAD NUTS"

current | archives | profile | notes | guestbook | photos | rings | contact | host

Perching here and gathering my thoughts ...

Why I believe in the National Health Service

06 June 2003 ~ 12:25

Yes, I know it's not perfect. What is? But really I have no complaints about my experiences with the NHS. I've had various treatments and tests in my 38 years, and the only problem I've ever had was with a particular doctor rather than the NHS itself. In any healthcare system there are bound to be a few doctors that are not as sympathetic as they should be.

What happened was I was suffering from depression and my then doctor simply told me to 'pull myself together.' As I was desperate, I decided to change my doctor. You are perfectly entitled to and don't have to give a reason. In my case I changed to a different practice too. I was very happy with the treatment I recieved there.

A landlady I lived with a few years back had a very bad experience with a private hospital. They performed a procedure on her that went wrong, and she had to go to the (NHS) emergency department. The doctor there told her 'private doctors don't know what they sre doing.' Private hospitals do not have emergency facilities so I know where I'd rather have my operation.

Of course, the NHS does have a problem with waiting times. In some cases these are much longer than desired. This problem needs addressing and in some cases it has been. Patients have been sent to France to have their operations (funded by the NHS of course). Though not ideal, it's a temporary solution and better than these people paying thousands of pounds to have their surgery done privately. More hospitals need to be built, more doctors and nurses need to be employed, and the NHS should be the Government's number one priority. Yes, more than schools, more than social security, more than asylum seekers. Health care is a basic right that everyone should have. After all, things like cancer can happen to anybody, rich or poor.

I can think of ways to save money and improve the service such as ending free meals in hospital�everyone has to eat no matter where they are, so why should the Government pay to feed people? I have no problem paying a bit of money for a private room or a TV. But the actual treatment�surgery, medicine, radiology, tests�must be provided free at source. No-one wants to have to worry 'will my insurer pay? what if I reach my limit? What if I can't afford private insurance?'

I do not agree with paying a fee to see your GP. �10 has been suggested. It will stop 'time wasters' so they say. Well, won't it also make people think twice about going for a consultation until they really need urgent treatment?Treatment that, if started earlier, could have meant a less serious condition and less money spent on it? Also, it might start out as �10. I remember when presciptions were 40p�they are now �6.30. No, that �10 would soon be �20, then �30, then �50 and so on.

The best thing about the NHS in my opinion is no forms to fill in, no questions asked. Nobody goes without help. I wouldn't want it any other way.


Stored nuts | Future acorns


-