"LIFE'S TOO SHORT TO EAT BAD NUTS"

current | archives | profile | notes | guestbook | photos | rings | contact | host

Perching here and gathering my thoughts ...

Observations from the sick bed

10 October 2004 ~ 01:29

Me, Mark and Mum just got back from a three-day weekend in Nice. While we were there, we visited Cannes, the French town famous for the film festival. Somehow I think we got off at the wrong train stop because we were nowhere near the beach (but, the train station was named Cannes), perhaps we needed Cannes La Bocca. However, we did manage to wander down (with Mark�s expert map-reading help) to the harbor and had lunch.

The yachts were gorgeous, but while we were eating, we smelt a foul scent like burning plastic, and it turned out�as was obvious by the presence of the Cannes fire briagade (or Les Sapeurs Pompiers, if you will)�that somebody�s yacht had caught fire. Still, I shouldn�t think there was any shortage of water to put the fire out!

We saw a really cute German shepherd dog on the pier, who Mark had his photo taken with:

Anyway, after we got back from our holiday, I fell very ill. I won�t go into details, but it involved a lot of going to the toilet and a lot of blood. The doctors diagnosed a bowel infection. Stomach pains were terrible. Not only this, but I suffered from a sinus headache that lasted all of three days and nothing would relieve it�even the strongest painkillers prescribed by the doctor!

Needless to say, I did not go to work at all this past week. I spent the time mooching around the flat. I couldn�t sleep all day because I didn�t think it would help my headache, so I would force myself up and find things to do. I didn�t dare eat anything. It�s amazing how you only realise, when you can�t eat, how much time you normally spend shopping for, thinking about, or preparing food!

I was looking out the window the other day and I saw a squirrel sitting on the fence of one of the back gardens. She was eating a bud�but on the next fencepost was a large black cat staring right at her. The squirrel seemed unfazed and continued eating the bud, but I was very anxious on her behalf and yelled at the cat to get away. I was ready to throw something at the cat if necessary, but I doubt it would have reached, as I might have been too far away. Eventually, the squirrel climbed onto the shed roof next to the fence, but I didn�t breathe a sigh of relief until she had completely gotten away from the cat.

Squirrels are quite feisty, as earlier the same day, I had seen a squirrel front up to a magpie�and the magpie flew away! But I wouldn�t trust a cat with a squirrel, as I think it was probably the same cat that Mark and I saw kill an injured woodpigeon a few weeks ago.

Mark�s parents� cat ignores the squirrels, and the squirrels run circles around her, but then, Jess is a total goofball! She is not the standard by which you want to judge cats, I should think.

You take care, all you squirrels out there. Watch out for those cats!



Stored nuts | Future acorns


-