"LIFE'S TOO SHORT TO EAT BAD NUTS"

current | archives | profile | notes | guestbook | photos | rings | contact | host

Perching here and gathering my thoughts ...

Farewell, Capella

26 July 2006 ~ 16:21

Last night our 'guest' rodents arrived again to be looked after whilst their mummy is on holiday.

Unfortunately, Capella, the small, slim agouti-hooded little girl was not with them. She passed away on Saturday after a long battle with the bacterial respiratory infection known as mycoplasma. She was really wheezy and rasping when we last looked after them and to be honest, I think she did well to hang in as long as she did.

That leaves Vega, Mosie and Spryte the rats, Womble the hamster, and Birch and Opal the mice.

Vega is tiny, oh so light, but very feisty. Beri could not believe that after the first time I looked after her girls, Vega was no longer a biter. Guess I as a fellow rodent, I worked my rat magic on her! Mosie is champagne-hooded and Spryte is silver fawn-hooded. Both Spryte & Mosie have gorgeous pink eyes, which I love, while Vega has the same dark brown eyes that Autumn has.

* * * * *

Oh and that leads me to add that I have discovered that I am not 100% pure British red squirrel. I now realise I am half French palm squirrel�a species that live in palm trees in the south of France, eating dates and such like. Problem is, they haven't been discovered yet! (At least, not by humans ;D )


Stored nuts | Future acorns


-