"LIFE'S TOO SHORT TO EAT BAD NUTS"

current | archives | profile | notes | guestbook | photos | rings | contact | host

Perching here and gathering my thoughts ...

Chez Mum

17 February 2003 ~ 17:07

Q: What do you call a mouse trying to sneak into the U.K.?

A: An asylum squeaker!

Hehehe, I thought I�d kick this entry off with a joke. (And for any Guardian-reading bleeding hearts who happen to read this and don�t find it funny: 1. I don�t want to hear about it, and 2. Lighten up!)




I hope everyone had a great Valentine�s Day! Mark and I stayed in as we�d been out for a meal the night before and simply fancied a quiet evening. We got each other�s cards (he bought his card for me in Amsterdam � luckily it was in English). I got Mark Bill Bryson�s new book about Kenya and some heart-shaped Belgian chocolates, which he came close to throwing out the window because they were Belgian, hehehe! That hubby of mine! In the end, he ate every one of them. As he is quite skint at the moment, I will understandably take a rain-check on my V-Day gift. He will treat me to a meal on the 28th to our favourite Italian restaurant, Lorenzo�s.

I went to my mum�s on Saturday and stayed the night. I have a small room at her house which was not my childhood room, but nevertheless, I�m very fond of. Well, really, it�s �our� room now � it�s got a double bed. I like to think that Mark sees his room in his parental home as �ours� too. I know it�s tough for a territorial bloke like my hubby, and that room was his pad for twenty-five years, but still � So really, Mark and I have three bedrooms! Even if not in the same household, tee-hee.

While Mark dutifully looked after the flat and the pets in London, Mum and I went shopping on Saturday, which is one of our favourite pastimes. I don�t enjoy shopping with anyone as much as Mum. In a way, we�re more like sisters because we look at the same sorts of clothes and stuff. Mum is very trendy and even a dress size smaller than I am! She lives in Grantham, in Lincolnshire, which is also my place of birth. It�s about 100 miles to the northeast of London but only takes just over an hour on the intercity train.

On Saturday night, we ate in Mum�s local pub which is strangely named The Muddle Go Nowhere after a local train junction. I had the vegetable pudding, but couldn�t eat it all, so I brought the rest home to feed the girls. On Sunday, Mum cooked a lovely Quorn roast with assorted vegetables.

It was great to see her again as I hadn�t done so since Christmas. She showed me some of my late brother�s old schoolwork, including a really funny story he had written at primary (elementary) school about a friend of his that snuck into his bedroom to steal his computer.

Anyway I�d like to write much more about Steven, but I�ll save that for another entry. Hope y�all had a great weekend too.


Stored nuts | Future acorns


-