"LIFE'S TOO SHORT TO EAT BAD NUTS"

current | archives | profile | notes | guestbook | photos | rings | contact | host

Perching here and gathering my thoughts ...

Christmas Time, Mistletoe and Wine!

24 December 2002 ~ 22:51

I know some people hate Christmas, but I actually like it a lot. Chiefly because it means nearly two weeks off work, but believe it or not, I actually do think it�s a pretty special time of year when people try to go the extra mile for each other. I like buying presents for people and I get more pleasure from that than I do from receiving my own gifts. I usually start shopping quite early. In fact, if I see something I think someone I know will like in September, I�ll get it and put it away for later.

I love Xmas trees too. Ours is only 4ft but we have some really pretty decorations in green, red and gold. Bead chains, tinsel in the aforementioned colours, red and gold baubles, gold drums and French horns, gold pinecones, pink hearts with loving doves inside them, small gold bird cages, bells, little wooden rocking horses, and a gold star on top. Not forgetting the multi-coloured fairy lights. I�d have it up all year if I could.

And just in case you think I don�t know the meaning of Christmas, I do. It�s the second most important date in the Christian calendar after Easter. Last year my husband and I went to Midnight Mass at a church in Dulwich. I love carols. I consider myself Christian to the extent that I didn�t consider myself properly married after our civil wedding arranged in a hurry so my hubby could get his visa. I insisted on a church blessing sometime afterwards. I worship in my own way though. I don�t follow a rigid doctrine. God gave us minds so we could try and work things out for ourselves. For example, I think it is wrong and just plain illogical to say that animals don�t have souls.

I also hate all this �Happy Holidays� nonsense. It�s Happy Christmas as far as I�m concerned.

Anyway enough waffling � on the 23rd my mum came down to stay with Mark and I for Christmas. He�s going to Boston on Boxing Day so mum will be here to help me bring in the New Year. Yesterday we went to Hampton Court to pick up some things Mark�s mother wanted from the gift shop. We had tea and then went for a walk in the grounds. There was a really sweet group of Canada geese feasting on the grass by the river and I lamented not bringing them any bread for their Christmas box, (I forgot.) It was starting to get dark and it was quiet and atmospheric. My mum even nicked a bit of rooted holly to try and grow in her garden, (naughty mum!)

Today we went shopping for our Christmas food. We didn�t spend an awful lot compared I suppose to what some spend. I don�t believe in stuffing and gorging just because it�s Christmas. It seems so wasteful when some people have nothing. At least we have our rats to eat any leftovers so little gets wasted.

Anyway I can�t wait �til tomorrow to see what Santa�s brought. I think I�ve been a good squirrel so hopefully I�ll get a little something.

Hope he comes for you too. Happy Christmas!


Stored nuts | Future acorns


-