"LIFE'S TOO SHORT TO EAT BAD NUTS"

current | archives | profile | notes | guestbook | photos | rings | contact | host

Perching here and gathering my thoughts ...

Cats are cruel, but I love them

28 July 2004 ~ 14:20

Hubby was looking out the landing window the other night when he called me to take a look outside with him.

In one of the back gardens we look out on, there was a white-and-black, short-haired cat stalking along the fence. We rarely see cats out back so we watched him for a while, but then suddenly he seemed to notice something of interest, and crouched in a pouncing stance.

I suspected he had seen a rat as there used to be a lot of them in the back gardens, but suddenly he leapt down and we saw that he had caught a pigeon. The pigeon was flapping and I was very distressed to think that the reason he had been on the ground so late at night might be because he was injured and therefore very vulnerable.

I immediately sent nightdragon outside and he ran around the corner to try and rescue the pigeon. After a few minutes he came back and said he'd got the pigeon off the cat, but it was already dead. Probably from shock. It was a wood-pigeon.

Both of us felt frustrated that we had not spotted the pigeon while the cat was still stalking him, but in the half-light it was difficult to see much in the long grass (the yard is a mess of weeds and vegetation that have all just been hacked down).

Still, at least we rescued a sparrow with a broken wing at my mum's the other weekend. And I still do love cats!


Stored nuts | Future acorns


-