"LIFE'S TOO SHORT TO EAT BAD NUTS"

current | archives | profile | notes | guestbook | photos | rings | contact | host

Perching here and gathering my thoughts ...

NOT changing rooms!

27 December 2002 ~ 20:19

Decorating and DIY seem to be all the rage these days. There are so many TV programmes dedicated to house makeovers and garden makeovers etc etc. I'm told my cousin watches little else. She loves decorating and does her whole house from top to bottom every year.

I actually find decorating as interesting as, well, watching paint dry, ha ha! Our flat was pretty nicely decorated when I bought it. The bloke who used to own it had done some nice things to it. The bathroom was tiled all over with white tiles, and he'd put lovely wooden ceilings in both the kitchen and bathroom, with white spot lights. The bedroom was all over cream paint; the living room embossed wallpaper painted cream on top.

Now, in the normal course of things I could go forever without decorating. The slight missing factor in the equation being our little furry 'kids;' A black rabbit who went through a phase of chewing the wall, and a succession of pet rats who just love ripping off wallpaper. Thus resulting in patches of bare wall.

Sometime ago my mum and I stripped the wallpaper off the bottom third of three of the living room walls, painted them with pale pink paint, and put up a pink border to hide where the paper joins plain paint. Only I did a stupid thing. I bought only one roll of border, and it is not enough to finish the remaining long wall!

So today mum and I went to the DIY superstore to purchase some cream paint to paint the entire 'chimney breast' area of the living room, to hide the bare patches where the animals have done their worst. Mum swears the colour of the paint at present is magnolia. I thought cream. Mum said she'd stake her life on it. I bought magnolia. Guess what? It is not an exact match. Though somehow I doubt the cream would be either. So we've decided to do the whole thing in pale pink. So far all I've done is paint the 'eaten' patches with a trial pot of magnolia paint. And I'm exhausted. Mum laughed.

I hate DIY!


Stored nuts | Future acorns


-