"LIFE'S TOO SHORT TO EAT BAD NUTS"

current | archives | profile | notes | guestbook | photos | rings | contact | host

Perching here and gathering my thoughts ...

Those Duran Duran days

23 February 2003 ~ 03:24

I spent about eight years, from 1984 onwards, following the band Duran Duran. There was a small group of us who used to hang around outside film, TV or recording studios, their houses, or Heathrow Airport. I must explain that we were just fans, not groupies. We had no aspirations to sleep with any of the band members; we just wanted to see them, talk to them and take photos.

My favourite band member was Simon Le Bon, though I also liked John Taylor and Nick Rhodes. They were all very nice blokes, perfectly happy to talk to us, let us know the latest news about themselves and posed for photographs with us. There were a few of us that they got to know very well and were on first name terms with, myself included. The highlights of my Duran days were being invited into Simon Le Bon's house to have lunch with him, going to Paris several times to see the band�including being invited into the studio for Nick Rhodes' birthday�and the time Simon Le Bon took us all for coffee at Heathrow Airport. Sneaking into the soundchecks at some of their concerts was very memorable too.

The first few years of following Duran, I was either a student or on the dole. Some people will probably think the whole experience was a waste of time. I certainly wouldn't wish to be married to Simon Le Bon, Yasmin is perfectly welcome to him. I wouldn't swap Mark for anything.

But I did make some very good friends, Gary and Alison are my very oldest friends. I had a good time following the band and it was a good form of escapism at a time in my life when there was much I longed to escape from, such as my Dad's illness.

I no longer have any of my Duran memorabilia, except for my CD collection of all the band's albums.

I still do enjoy their music. They played their instruments, wrote their own music and broke the market in America, Australia, Japan, and the whole of Europe. I'm convinced that if they were young these days, they would give any of today's boy-bands a run for their money.


Stored nuts | Future acorns


-