"LIFE'S TOO SHORT TO EAT BAD NUTS"

current | archives | profile | notes | guestbook | photos | rings | contact | host

Perching here and gathering my thoughts ...

I want a ferret!

25 April 2003 ~ 23:48

While in Boston on holiday this past week, I've had occasion to visit the local Petco store a few times. Each time I'm magically drawn to the ferret enclosure. These playful creatures with their slinky, supple bodies were either sleeping so soundly that even a playmate chewing on an ear didn't wake them, or else they were gambolling around like kittens, pouncing and playfighting. And really, the smell is not all that bad.

I've wanted a ferret since I was a kid. We had the usual family pets�cats mainly, latterly a very sweet doggy, with the odd hamster and goldfish thrown in. Then for years I lived in a rented room with no pets allowed. When I eventually got my own place I really got into rats, and they definitely are brilliant pets. But I still hanker after a ferret (or two!)

Ferrets live longer than rats and you can litter train them, and take them for walks on a leash. They don't chew everything in sight like rats do. Of course, they have their problems too. They can catch colds from humans and have to be neutered (males smell strongly otherwise and females continue to come on heat until they get sick otherwise).

Hubby would love a cat. I can see a ferret and a cat getting along, if raised together. They're both carnivores afterall.

One day, Squirrel, one day...


Stored nuts | Future acorns


-