"LIFE'S TOO SHORT TO EAT BAD NUTS"

current | archives | profile | notes | guestbook | photos | rings | contact | host

Perching here and gathering my thoughts ...

My favourite flicks

22 January 2003 ~ 13:06

It's a very hard thing to narrow down your favourite anything to just a few. So I don't pretend that when I've posted this entry, I won't suddenly remember another film I really like and be annoyed that I didn't mention it. I mean, how many films are there that have ever been made? Not just thousands. There must be hundreds of thousands. Anyway for what it's worth here goes, and don't forget to let me know your favourite film too.

As anyone who reads me knows, I'm a big animal lover, so it's probably no suprise that many of my best films are about critters. Mouse Hunt is one I own on video. I also have Snow Dogs, Fly Away Home, Joey and Rat. I once saw a film called The Adventures of Black Feather, an excellent film about a crow, but I don't think it's available on video any more. Ice Age is another film that I thought was really cool (my little joke, geddit?).

Most of these films of course are meant for kids, but adults can enjoy them too. My most recent video purchase was the Barbie film Rapunzel. It's got the cutest little dragon, Penelope, in it. God, she is sweet�such big eyes! I want to adopt her! Then there is the all time classic Walt Disney cartoon film Robin Hood, not to mention The Secret of Nimh (from the book, Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of Nimh.)

I haven't got them on video but I do love adventure films, and I'd class the original three Star Wars films more as that than science fiction. Harrison Ford crops up in the Indiana Jones trilogy too. I hear they're making a new one soon, despite Ford being nearly 60. Good for him! My favourite of the three has to be Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade. The interaction between Indiana and his dad, played by Sean Connery, is first rate. I love it when after being followed and shot at in a ramshackle bi-plane, and eventually crash landing, Dr Jones senior comments drily, 'You call this archaeology?'

Comedy is hard to choose a number one from too. It's not very famous but I love Tom Hank's The Burbs. Steve Martin is another favourite. Trains Planes and Automobiles, Father of the Bride and Dirty Rottern Scoundrels are the best of the bunch. My Cousin Vinny is probably Mark's choice for the number one comedy spot, but I love it too. My favourite British comedy has to be The Full Monty. Class act!

It may be a girl thing but I don't mind a bit of romance either. Ladyhawk with Michelle Pfiffer is the best for me (and the soundtrack by Alan Parsons is ace), but The Wedding Planner with Jennifer Lopez comes a close second. And Kevin Costner's Robin Hood Prince of Thieves has both action AND romance, so that's a winner for me.

Going to the 'pictures' as we Brits say is not something we do every weekend, but Mark and I like to treat ourselves and we plan to see Eminem's 8 Mile soon. I'm hoping it might be good enough to be featured in a future favourites entry. In the meantime, happy viewing, folks!


Stored nuts | Future acorns


-