"LIFE'S TOO SHORT TO EAT BAD NUTS"

current | archives | profile | notes | guestbook | photos | rings | contact | host

Perching here and gathering my thoughts ...

Why I'm not anti-French

27 February 2003 ~ 14:09

My hubby nightdragon is so angry at the way France and Germany have sided against the US over the war against Iraq that he has declared he doesn't want to visit either country. He doesn't think much of the French or German people and thinks they agree wholeheartedly with their leaders and all hate Americans.

To my mind, this is not the case. A million-and-a-half people recently marched in London against our (British) Government's pro-war stance on Iraq, which tells me that people can have differences of opinion with their government.

I don't usually ever get political except in defense of my belief in animal rights (which is really more of a moral issue anyway). But this time I'm going to make an exception.

I refuse to be 'anti' any country, be it France, the US or anywhere else. There are good people and bad people in every nation, and no person should be judged just on their nationality. I hate bull fighting and would love to see an end to it, but I don't boycott Spain. Could I do so living in a country that has fox hunting and not be a hypocrite?

Though each country has its own customs and characteristics�and I celebrate the variety�we're never all going to agree, so let's please just agree to differ!


Stored nuts | Future acorns


-