"LIFE'S TOO SHORT TO EAT BAD NUTS"

current | archives | profile | notes | guestbook | photos | rings | contact | host

Perching here and gathering my thoughts ...

Fur God's sake

20 February 2003 ~ 22:14

I read in The Evening Standard recently about the fashion show (part of London Fashion Week) by designer Julian MacDonald, which featured a lot of fur in the collection. The show was attended by celebrities including Martine McClutchen and Charlotte Church. McClutchen even went as far as to be interviewed on the news saying no-one had the right to tell people not to wear fur.

I think she should stick to thinking about what dress to wear for the next film premiere she attends. Some things are just indefensible morally. I take my hat off the the PETA activists that managed to get inside the show and jump up on the catwalk holding protest banner saying 'Fur Kills.' Even my better half Nightdragon, who likes to tell me he is not a supporter of animal rights but rather animal welfare, is vehemently anti-fur.

It is just such a selfish act to purchase garments made or trimmed with fur, knowing full well that an animal has died purely for the buyer's vanity. The fashion designers such as MacDonald and magazines like Vogue are just as bad if not worse, because they atually promote fur wearing.

I love fashion myself, but I have to say, even if I weren't a believer in rights for animals, I wouldn't be caught dead in fur. I think it looks awful, makes people look fat and gets tatty very quickly, causing it to look rather old and moth-eaten. I saw a woman wearing a fur jacket at Victoria Station yesterday that actually had a hole in it. She looked dire, like she'd just found the coat dumped outside a charity shop. I'm glad to say the only furrier in this area closed down recently, hopefully due to lack of sales.

A designer I really admire is Stella McCartney, who has publically stated that she would never use fur in any of her collections. Hear hear, I say. Let's leave fur coat wearing to those who were born with theirs and who look the most beautiful in them�the animals.


Stored nuts | Future acorns


-