"LIFE'S TOO SHORT TO EAT BAD NUTS"

current | archives | profile | notes | guestbook | photos | rings | contact | host

Perching here and gathering my thoughts ...

My 'Night' in shining armour!

09 January 2003 ~ 12:34

Most people who read my diary are also readers of my 'better half' (Nightdragon's) diary. So you probably know him better than me. In short, he needs no introduction. I know I'm always telling him I love him, but I've decided I want everyone else to know it too!

I first got to know Mark as a penpal. We wrote to each other for about six months before we first talked to each other on the phone. Even in the letters I could tell he was a very genuine, sweet guy. He sent me some photos of himself and his sister, playing with a young squirrel in their back garden. His smile was dazzling. I was very keen to meet him, and I offered straightaway to put him up at my place if he should ever make it to London.

Of course, it is a big deal to go travelling inter-continental for the first time, alone. And not cheap either. So it was a while before we finally met. A year and one month, more or less (March 1998). I was as nervous as heck, waiting at Gatwick Airport arrivals. Would I recognise him even?

I would have been very suprised if someone had said to me then, 'In six months time you'll be married to him!' I wouldn't have been too dismayed though, because we took to each other straightaway and got on really well. We had the same sense of humour and a lot of common interests. We both love animals and are interested in history, travel and languages. When he went back the America, I missed him terribly, even though we had only been together for just over two weeks. And with visa requirements, there was only one way we would be able to live together.

We got married on October the third 1998. I'd never thought I would end up getting married. In fact, I'd never had a boyfriend before Mark, so it was all a bit of a whirlwind to find myself done up like a dog's dinner in a long white dress, taking vows in front of all my friends and family. Mark was very nervous too. He'd also thought he was doomed to end up a permanent bachelor.

About a week after the wedding, things began to go pear-shaped. Mark just couldn't hack all the changes about life in a different country. He was also suffering from depression, which had plagued him for years, and it made the home sickness even worse. He became difficult to live with and decided there was no option but to go back to the States.

We've both come a long way since then.

Mark's on treatment for his depression, which has helped enormously, and of course the only thing that was going to cure the homesickness was time. I've also learned to accept his personality as it is, and not try to change him. He still has his bad moods, when there's nothing I can do but keep out of his way and ride the storm. But I've no complaints about our relationship. As guys go, he can be quite loving; he's intelligent and interesting to talk to, has a wicked sense of humour, and always makes an effort to look good too (not that he needs to try too hard!).

I feel really privileged to have met a man like him who I can have a wonderful chemistry with, share my life with, and never get bored with.

If you're reading this, Honey, I love you!


Stored nuts | Future acorns


-