"LIFE'S TOO SHORT TO EAT BAD NUTS"

current | archives | profile | notes | guestbook | photos | rings | contact | host

Perching here and gathering my thoughts ...

Joseph & The Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat

23 October 2007 ~ 17:22

On Friday night, my mum & I went to see �Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat� at The Adelphi Theatre in London�s West End. This new production of Andrew Lloyd-Webber and Tim Rice�s biblical musical stars Lee Mead, winner of the BBC TV show �Any Dream Will Do,� in which TV viewers voted for their preferred Joseph from a group of hopefuls.

I have to say, I�d never seen Joseph before so I had nothing to compare it to, but I do think it was the best musical I�ve ever been to. And I�ve been to some good ones. Lee Mead IS Joseph, it�s like he was born to play the role. The production was slick yet tongue-in-cheek (multicoloured sheep, talking snakes and camels and a corn-on-the-cob dispensing fruit machine etc). My mum�s favourite part, and a bit we weren�t expecting, was Dean Collinson�s wonderfully camp Elvis-inspired Pharaoh. In fact all the cast were marvellous, there were plenty of encores without the show seeming too long (yes I love theatre but some are so long your bottom gets numb on those cheap seats, lol) and all-in-all a jolly good romp. I hope to go and see it again!



Stored nuts | Future acorns


-