"LIFE'S TOO SHORT TO EAT BAD NUTS"

current | archives | profile | notes | guestbook | photos | rings | contact | host

Perching here and gathering my thoughts ...

Leave lunchtime drinking alone!

12 May 2006 ~ 16:21

A recent BBC article says that employers who allow lunchtime drinking are now in the minority.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/magazine/4758941.stm

Sorry but I don't think it is your employer's business what you legally get up in your own time. If you are not working any dangerous equipment, driving, flying or anything like that, but just work in an office or shop, how has the odd drink got anything to do with them? I'd hate to see Britain become like a 'dry county' with people thinking you are an alcoholic just for having a lunchtime drink. The majority of people can be perfectly sensible about drinking and don't need to be told they cannot drink. I don't drink alcohol at all myself but I'll defend to my last breath the right for others to do so.

It is getting so ridiculous nowadays with employers telling you what you can and cannot do. Some companies are saying they will only hire non smokers. As long as you are not smoking at work what the hell has it to do with them? My friend works for London Underground. Just selling tickets, not driving a train. They have drug testing and she is not even allowed to take anti-depressants can you believe? Legally prescribed medicine!

This is like going back to the bad old days when bosses controlled every aspect of an employee's life. As far as I'm concerned, control freak bosses can take a bloody hike! (Can you tell this annoys me?)


Stored nuts | Future acorns


-