"LIFE'S TOO SHORT TO EAT BAD NUTS"

current | archives | profile | notes | guestbook | photos | rings | contact | host

Perching here and gathering my thoughts ...

Poor Nightdragon's first stay in hospital

14 May 2005 ~ 22:17

My honey has been in hospital for two nights and I really missed him. Nothing serious, luckily, but I found it so sweet when, as I said bye to him the first night, he replied 'Tonight will be the lonelist night of my life.'

He had been having agonising low back pain and vomiting on and off since Tuesday night, and Thursday morning had another very serious attack, so we rang the doctor and he saw him at 8.50am, and he prescribed anti-inflammatories, anti-sickness and anti-spasmodics. After an hour of being home and having taken the meds, he was still in agony, so I agreed to call him an ambulance. I hated dialling 999�I never called an ambulance in my life, but I couldn't bear to see him suffer any more. Nightdragon hates doctors, especially needles, so I knew he wasn't faking it!

We got taken to Lewisham Hospital where he had three X-rays, three tubes of blood taken (with one of those canular [?] things which made him very queasy), a litre of saline and two bottles of dye. After being transfered to RATU (Rapid Assessment and Treatment Unit), he was refered to Guys where they have a Urology Unit. We were transported there by 'MedicMan' ambulance and he was admitted to the ward. He had another X-ray, and another doctor examined him and felt a kidney stone 'down there' and said it should pass within the next few hours. He had to stay overnight but only so they could treat the infection it caused. By this time it was 8pm.

No complaints about the treatment. The staff were all 100 percent professional (lots of immigrants�African/Carribean/Middle Eastern and Aussie were the ones we came across�so who says the UK doesn't need legal immigrants?) and Guys was so new and sparkly I'm sure it would easily outdo any private hospital. They even gave me something to eat from patients meals left over.

Anyway, it turned out he had to spend Friday night in hospital too, so I went to visit him straight after work. The pain was coming back a little and the charge nurse gave him a shot of morphine, which helped him. We went for a walk around the building and I bought us a coffee and a tea.

Saturday he called me around 2pm to say they were just checking what medicines he needed to take home, then he was being discharged. He arrived home about 3.30pm. It was great to have him back, and so far, no pain, but we don't know if the stone has passed.

By the way, a funny story. Mark had Union Jack (British flag) undies on�which I bought for him�and he was very embarrassed about what they'd think of his choice of underwear while he was being examined. I told him to relax. They've probably seen much worse�like gold lam� posing pouches, hee-hee.


Stored nuts | Future acorns


-