"LIFE'S TOO SHORT TO EAT BAD NUTS"

current | archives | profile | notes | guestbook | photos | rings | contact | host

Perching here and gathering my thoughts ...

Favourite historical period?

05 February 2003 ~ 22:33

If you could go back to any time period and experience life in those days, what do you think it would be?

Of course, I'm talking a few days only�then you could come back to the present day. I'd be very surprised if anyone would actually choose to permanently dwell in the past, where hygiene was none too existent, there was no TV and you could die from appendicitis.

My choice to visit would be mediaeval times. I've always had a fascination for that period. For starters, the men were just so dashing. Of course I wouldn't want to be a peasant, merchant or nun, I'd want to be a queen or a lady married to a gorgeous knight. The clothes were so beautiful and imagine living in a castle!

My 'Timeslip' would have to be in the summer because it must have been very drafty with no central heating. And I'd have to be infertile (or my husband would have to be). Having kids in those days was a pretty dangerous experience. Loads of women died in labour or shortly after. I'd probably have trouble trying to find vegetarian food and lack of womens' rights would be a toughie.

I'd spend my time sewing, reading, playing chess or riding. (No hunting for me which was a huge pastime of theirs.) Oh, and hoping my lord didn't get called away for military duty in case he got killed.

Anyway in the meantime I've got books and films so I'll just have to imagine what life was like back in the Middle Ages!


Stored nuts | Future acorns


-