"LIFE'S TOO SHORT TO EAT BAD NUTS"

current | archives | profile | notes | guestbook | photos | rings | contact | host

Perching here and gathering my thoughts ...

Weekend at Mum's

20 September 2006 ~ 17:03

This past weekend I went to my mum's. I left the Dragon at home as he was too tired to come. I left Saturday about noon and took the 1.38pm train from London King's Cross to Grantham, the town in Lincolnshire where my mum lives. I caught a taxi up to her house.

Mum & I had decided to try out the newish town leisure centre. The last time I went swimming in Grantham there was just the old swimming baths. This place was much bigger with a gym, fitness studios, meeting rooms etc. We were just going in the pool.

There was a main 25 metre swimming pool, although it was square not rectangular like they usually are. Then there was a children's pool and two leisure pools with a chute and waterfalls. Mum & I headed for the Jacuzzi right away. It was large and very hot, but there were lots of kids about, splashing and shouting so it was a bit annoying. We went in the pool, back to the Jacuzzi and then got changed and went to the cafe for a drink.

In the evening we went up to the pub 'The Muddle Go Nowhere' and had a nice nut roast and a drink. I had brought a DVD of Charlie & The Chocolate Factory which we watched when we got home.

On Sunday Mum & I walked down to Matalan, a huge new clothes store they recently built. The clothes are cheap. Matalan is a chain but I'd never been to one before. I have to say, we were impressed. I bought a skirt, a nightie and a thong (the thong was 25p, about 50c)! Mum bought a jacket and a nightie.

When we got home Mum cooked a veggie lasagne for dinner, and soon after it was time to catch my train home. It was a nice weekend.


Stored nuts | Future acorns


-