"LIFE'S TOO SHORT TO EAT BAD NUTS"

current | archives | profile | notes | guestbook | photos | rings | contact | host

Perching here and gathering my thoughts ...

My cousin's civil partnership evening reception

16 August 2006 ~ 12:13

Mark, Mum & I we went to my cousin Nigel and his boyfriend Mike's civil partnership reception on Saturday. I'd had a devil of a time deciding what to wear out of about four possible dresses, but in the end I wore my greeny bluey dress from Monsoon, Mum wore a lilac dress from Marks & Spencers and the Nightdragon wore a black kilt with a white shirt (no tie) and long black socks.

It was pretty much like any wedding reception though of course there was no tossing the bouquet and no first dance (although I thought they could have had a first dance). We felt like right wallies at first because we sat in the pub bit of the hotel for ages, then Nigel said to us 'You do realise the reception is out the back in the Courtyard Suite don't you?' What ninnies! We had been wondering where the food was and my mum was saying 'this is nothing like I expected' lol.

They had THREE cakes (two fruit, one sponge - apparantly the girl making the cake got carried away). The music was great. YMCA etc (and Dancing Queen which I requested). We had a good dance. Mark met three of my cousins he had never met before and two of their wives. Mum told me today that they all loved him and I had got myself a great bloke! Everyone seems to think Mark's accent sounds half English and half American! (Boo hoo - I want him to sound totally 'Merican!)

It was funny 'cos Nigel's two sons and ex-wife were there. Imagine seeing your ex-hubby get hitched to a guy! Must be weird.

I have to say, this sounds very big-headed but we were the best dressed there. With the exception of a few young girls, nobody had made much of an effort. Nigel and Mike wore morning suits and so did one of Nigel's sons, but other people seemed very casual to me. Most women seemed to have just black trousers and a top that you would wear to the office, just a T-shirty top. Don't people dress up to receptions nowadays?

Oh and a great idea they used that would be good for any reception is they had a series of photos projected onto the wall: them as kids, them as teens, them and their families, their friends, the stag do etc.

All in all a good night. My mum had had doubts about going and only went because we were going, but she enjoyed herself.


Stored nuts | Future acorns


-