"LIFE'S TOO SHORT TO EAT BAD NUTS"

current | archives | profile | notes | guestbook | photos | rings | contact | host

Perching here and gathering my thoughts ...

Star snubs fans

01 January 2006 ~ 00:54

On Friday night Mum & I went to see the musical 'Guys & Dolls' at the Piccadilly theatre in London's West End. I was really looking forward to the performance as my favourite soap star, Nigel Harman (Dennis in EastEnders) was starring as Sky Masterson.

The show was great and Nigel was a good singer and dancer (he had a background in musical theatre before beomiong famous as a soap star) and the songs were good.

After the show ended Mum & I, along with a few other fans, went to wait at the stage door for Nigel to come out. It was a cold evening and we waited while the other actors and actresses exited and some stars signed autographs. I had my camera and wanted to get my photo taken with Nigel.

Well, an hour went by and nobody had come out for a while, so one lady rang the buzzer and asked if Nigel was inside. She was told he had gone.

Now, there were only about twenty people waiting, it's not as if a huge crowd were going to mob Nigel. Some of the fans were kids and I think it stinks that he snuck out of the front entrance to avoid five minutes signing a few autographs. His fans afterall are what made him what he is.

Mark & I had seen Matthew Perry (Chandler in Friends) perform on the London stage. He is a much bigger star than Nigel Harman, and he came out specifically to signed autographs. I got him to sign my 'Making friends in the UK' book. Perry signed Mark's Red Sox cap too, and allowed pictures of him to be taken.

I think it is a real pity that a rising star cannot be bothered to make time for his fans and if he carries on like this, maybe soon he won't have any. What's more he didn't tell anyone to go out and say he had left and for all he knows we could all have waited another hour in the freezing cold for him.

Strangely, his character Dennis in EastEnders was stabbed and killed the same night which we watched on video when we got home. And after being snubbed like that, I'm not sure I'll miss him on the show much.


Stored nuts | Future acorns


-