"LIFE'S TOO SHORT TO EAT BAD NUTS"

current | archives | profile | notes | guestbook | photos | rings | contact | host

Perching here and gathering my thoughts ...

Pottering around Paris

10 September 2003 ~ 13:01

Mark and I had a nice weekend in Paris. We were only there Saturday and Sunday, and didn't arrive until 4pm on the Saturday, so it was a flying visit (literally�we flew there!)

Mark wanted to re-create the album cover to the Alan Parsons Project's I Robot album which uses the escalators at Charles de Gaulle airport (they all crisscross one another in a central circle at Terminal 1). So I took a picture of him standing on one of the ambulators, holding up said CD.

It was good weather for once in Paris (the other three times I've been with Mark were very cold and wet). It really does make all the difference. And this time we were determined not to rush, rush, rush around sightseeing. We've seen plenty of the Tour Eiffel, et al, on previous occasions. This time we just chilled. And the hotel room was very nice so we kicked back there.

Not one French person was rude to us�even though they must often get impatient with the rosbif's painfully slow French. I'm glad of that as Mark was worried they'd insult him, being American as he is. Maybe the French do have a reputation for being rude, but I'm sure that doesn't mean every single one of them is, anymore than every Briton is cold and aloof or every American is loud.

Anyway me and Mark went to feed the squirrels in Kensington Gardens on Monday lunchtime, and we saw a poor little squirrelly with a broken leg. The poor lamb was dragging its leg around and had to lay down to eat rather than sitting up as they usually do. We threw him several nuts to keep him nourished, but could do little else. (We wouldn't alert the park rangers in case they put him down). I only hope he wasn't in pain and the leg heals up OK. I'd glady take him home for a pet if I thought there was any chance of catching him. I'll be going to see if I can find him again today to give him more nuts. Gotta take care of the needy!


Stored nuts | Future acorns


-