"LIFE'S TOO SHORT TO EAT BAD NUTS"

current | archives | profile | notes | guestbook | photos | rings | contact | host

Perching here and gathering my thoughts ...

Pottering around Peterborough

16 June 2003 ~ 13:51

Yesterday my mum and I visited Peterborough, the cathedral city in Cambridgeshire, which is about 20 minutes from where Mum lives by high speed train.

It was a gloriously hot and sunny day. We shopped around in the Queensgate shopping centre and the high street, had coffee outside Starbuck's whilst listening to a Christian band that were performing in the central square, then popped in to look around the cathedral.

It was nice and cool inside. I lit a candle for Stella, and Mum lit two for my dad and brother Steven. You could write down on a slip of paper what you wanted praying for so I wrote down that I wanted them to say prayers for our poor Stella.

Then we went to see Catherine of Aragon's tomb. She was Henry VIII's first wife and I feel she was very poorly treated by him. They were married for twenty years but he wanted a son (they had only one living child, the later Mary I), so he divorced her in order to marry Anne Boelyn. She was sent away to live a very frugal lifestyle, told she could no longer call herself Queen, and her daughter Mary was banned from attending her funeral when she died a few years later.

It seems a terrible pity because according to chroniclers of the day, she was very popular and charitable. It was nice to see that someone had laid a bunch of flowers on her tomb.

After that we went to a pub for a refreshing drink, then I headed back to London, and Mum to Gratham. A nice day indeed.


Stored nuts | Future acorns


-