"LIFE'S TOO SHORT TO EAT BAD NUTS"

current | archives | profile | notes | guestbook | photos | rings | contact | host

Perching here and gathering my thoughts ...

Rat sitting encore

14 July 2005 ~ 01:44

I�m currently looking after someone else�s rats while they are on holiday. I took possession of them Friday 8th July and I have them until they are collected on Monday 18th. Mark was in Boston at the time and just got back today so he has only just met them.

The four does (girl rats) belong to a teenager who contacted me through the Fancy Rats. I had put my name down as a potential rat sitter. I enjoyed the last lot of rat-sitting over Christmas and the New Year, but as you may recall, felt put out that the lady who owned that group didn�t keep up contact afterwards. I�d have loved to visit to see them again.

The four new guest rats are Capella, an agouti hooded; Vega, a chocolate Berkshire; Mosie, a champagne hooded; and Spryte, a silver fawn hooded. All are adorable girls very very much smaller and thinner than our own two large girls. I have been feeding them up by offering all sorts of treats like sweet corn, baked potatoes, mushy peas, yoghurt, chocolate cake and pizza. They came with doggy choc drops for treats and I�m giving them plenty. They drink from a bowl and don�t seem familiar with the idea of a water bottle.

Every night I have the four does out in the bathroom for a run around. They love scampering about and getting into mischief. I noticed today that they had chewed the toggle off the waist cord of a pair of combats I had folded up on the bathroom floor.

I had been warned that one or two of them bite, but as they hadn�t bitten me I forgot to warn Mark. As he put his hand into the igloo where the four girls were asleep I said �Careful Hon, apparently they bite.� Too late. He withdrew his forefinger which started bleeding profusely. It took ten whole minutes of holding a tissue tightly round the finger before the blood stopped flowing.

I�m definitely enjoying having these sweet ratties and I�ll miss them when I go, but who knows, maybe I�ll get chance to sit them again.


Stored nuts | Future acorns


-