"LIFE'S TOO SHORT TO EAT BAD NUTS"

current | archives | profile | notes | guestbook | photos | rings | contact | host

Perching here and gathering my thoughts ...

New Year, new resolution

20 December 2002 ~ 12:55

It�s the ultimate non-starter, isn�t it? New Years� Resolutions were almost made to be broken. I�ll bet the most popular one is giving up smoking! Well, I don�t smoke, I never have, so thank God that�s one obstacle I�ll never have to overcome.

So, if you�re just itching to find out if I�m going to make a resolution, then I�ll tell you. I am, and it�s probably the second commonest one: I intend to lose weight.

I�ve been trying to lose weight for a few months, but it�s been difficult. There have been several holidays, with not really enough time in between to really get down to it. I haven�t got the strongest willpower in the world and I know it would be foolish to try and stick to a diet whilst on holiday. Also, I am not that overweight. I am a size 14 (for American readers, please note that these sizes are comparable to a size 12 in the US) and could do with losing a couple of stone, but having had anorexia for years as a teenager, I have no wish nowadays to be a skinny Minnie so I�ll settle to loose a few pounds, or half a stone. At 5-foot-3 (and a bit), I don�t want to be more than 10 and a half stone (147 pounds to Americans.) Also my doctor has advised me to lose a bit because of our family curse of high blood pressure. (Well, one locum doctor said that. A job�s worth if you ask me. My regular doctor never mentioned it.)

In fact, I haven�t got the typical women�s complaint about my bottom, hips and thighs. My legs are quite slim and so are my hips. But I have little discernible waist and an over large stomach. I also have a tendency to put weight on first around my face. I�ve seen people with huge bottoms and wobbly thighs just quivering with cellulite, that have slimmer faces than I do. That�s nature I guess. We all put weight on in different places. Slim legs run in our family. (Get it? I love that joke!)

So anyway, come 1st January, cakes, crisps and chocolate will be banished from our home (my husband wants to lose a bit too) and it will be fruit for breakfast, fruit for lunch and only one can of coke a day. (I love coke! Can�t stand the diet stuff!)

Wish me luck and good luck to anyone else who makes a New Years Resolution too. In the meantime, enjoy Christmas. As Homer Simpson famously said, �Eat, for tomorrow we diet!�


Stored nuts | Future acorns


-