"LIFE'S TOO SHORT TO EAT BAD NUTS"

current | archives | profile | notes | guestbook | photos | rings | contact | host

Perching here and gathering my thoughts ...

A right Royal screw-up!

19 February 2005 ~ 19:47

When Prince Charles announced that he was going to marry Camilla Parker-Bowles on the 8th of April, I knew my mother-in-law would love to see the wedding. So I invited her to come over from Boston and stay with us that weekend.

However, just as the Royals screwed up their wedding arrangements, I screwed up with my arrangements too.

First a little history: Prince Charles was not able to marry in a church because, as the future head of the Church of England, he could not really marry in any other denomination, and the C of E does not really approve of remarrying divorcees. (Camilla�s husband is still alive.)

Therefore, he decided to do what most divorced couples in England do�and have a civil wedding, followed by a church blessing (just as nightdragon and I had done, though of course, neither of us were divorced. It�s just what we wanted to do). The Archbishop of Canterbury has agreed to do the blessing, and the civil marriage was scheduled to take place in Windsor Castle.

However, what they didn�t realise was that if Windsor Castle was to apply for a civil marriage licence, it would mean that they would have to allow other couples to marry there for three years. So instead, the venue has been switched to Windsor Guildhall. It is an old, elegant building, partly designed by Christopher Wren (the same bloke who did Chas� other marriage site, St. Paul�s Cathedral!).

It seems that her Majesty the Queen is very put out by these arrangements. She thinks it�s not good enough, and it is besmirching the good name of the Royal family. I say it�s quite the opposite. There�s nothing wrong with it, and many people these days get married in register offices like us, not necessarily because they are divorced. Some register offices are extremely popular, like Chelsea, where many famous people have got hitched. This is the 21st century. The Royals need to get with it. People will have a lot more respect for them once they get off their high pedestals and act like modern royals, such as the Dutch, Belgian and Scandinavian Royal families.

Now then, my own screw-up was that, when booking time off work, I realised that Mark (ND), my mother and I had actually got a holiday planned in Nice, France that same weekend that my MIL will be here! It cost me �225 to change the flights to the previous weekend, but fortunately only �20 to reschedule the hotel dates. Expensive mistake!

I guess the point I�m trying to make is two-pronged: Prince Charles is only human and everyone makes oversights sometimes, as I sure did! Secondly, I will certainly not have any less respect for the Royals just because the heir to the throne got married in a register office.


Stored nuts | Future acorns


-