"LIFE'S TOO SHORT TO EAT BAD NUTS"

current | archives | profile | notes | guestbook | photos | rings | contact | host

Perching here and gathering my thoughts ...

Why I hate rude people

15 June 2004 ~ 17:15

Sometimes it really does amaze me how rude people can be. I sincerely hope that Americans are not so ignorant as British people seem to be, though unfortunately, human beings being as they are, I'll bet there are such folk across the pond too.

Today I bumped into a cleaner here at the college where I work. She used to come up every Friday to collect the weekly wage slips, but as all the staff in her department are now monthly paid, I had not seen her for some years.

We said hello and exchanged pleasantries, then to my astonishment, she said, 'You've put on weight, haven't you?'

I was actually so gobsmacked that she would be so rude they I just said yes I had, and made my excuses and left. Immediately after I was furious with myself for not calling her on such a personal remark. I'd love to have said something like, 'And you look a lot older too.' While it's true I might have gone up a dress size, I'm hardly a mountain, and even if I was, didn't her mother teach her not to make rude comments about others?

This is not the first time a similar personal remark has been aimed at me. One particular woman who works in the snack bar here asks me if I'm pregnant every time I wear anything slightly baggy. Even though I have told her we aren't having kids! I swear if she says it again I will complain to her manager.

Many is the time I've wanted to say something to people about their appearance, usually if they look like they haven't washed for a long time and smell bad. After all, it is a lot easier to have a wash than it is to lose 15 pounds! But I don't. I hold my tongue, because I was brought up not to say anything about peoples' physical appearances.

Yes, I'd like to lose a bit of weight, but I'm happy, and I'm damned if I'm going to put up with people who are a lot fatter than I am passing judgement on me!


Stored nuts | Future acorns


-