"LIFE'S TOO SHORT TO EAT BAD NUTS"

current | archives | profile | notes | guestbook | photos | rings | contact | host

Perching here and gathering my thoughts ...

Nervous about Saddam's death

01 July 2004 ~ 13:20

I have to say, I don�t know how putting Saddam Hussein to death is going to deter terrorism. My biggest fear is that the former dictator will be turned into a martyr.

This is not an anti-war entry. In fact, I have remained neutral with regard to the Iraq War since its beginning. I am always worried whenever our country does go into a war, and who isn't? But I say, it�s up to our leaders to deal with this business. I�m neither one way nor the other on it.

Saddam�s impending death sentence is a different matter. I�m nearly confident that it�s not such a good idea.

Let�s face it, we�ve all found out just how loyal some factions in Iraq were to Saddam. I know it�s not just loyalists causing the violence, but still, can we conclusively say that his death will help the transition in Iraq. Or hinder it?

This is not up to the coalition, of course, and France opposes the death penalty for Saddam. This decision is up to the Iraqis, and they want Saddam dead. It�s their government, their choice�and they�ve a right to it.

Personally, I�m just a bit apprehensive about it.

So, what do you think? Life or death for Saddam Hussein?


Stored nuts | Future acorns


-