"LIFE'S TOO SHORT TO EAT BAD NUTS"

current | archives | profile | notes | guestbook | photos | rings | contact | host

Perching here and gathering my thoughts ...

Scanner scare story

10 January 2003 ~ 12:48

When Mark bought our computer (it's registered to MY name, hah!) in December 2000, we got a printer and scanner as part of the package. Mark set up the computer and printer, but the scanner lay idle for two whole years, despite my best pleadings and naggings. (Hey, all you girls out there, you know how hard it is to get your man to do anything!)

So, this Christmas, with hubby safely away in Boston, I took it upon myself to finally install the scanner. Given the choice of a printer or a scanner, I'd actually prefer a scanner!

Well, I used the disc which came with it, successfully installed it, and the scanner icon appeared on the screen. I had to use an extra 4-port USB hub because all the connections in the back of the computer were used up.

However, when I tried to scan a photo, I got a message saying 'scanner not found.' It was very frustrating. I decided to use a computer engineer that my friend had used recently as she said he was very nice, and not expensive.

Well, he came, and told us that the adapter plug (jack) had blown and that that was why there was no power. He said he'd come back with another one later in the week.

Last night he came around with the new adapter plug, and it turned out that the actual scanner itself does not work. No life in it whatsoever, even though there was definitely power going into it.

So now we've got to spend at least �50 on a new scanner, (we won't be buying the same make again!) and this time I'm going to install it myself, straightaway! At least then if it doesn't work, we can take it back to the shop. Not something you can do with a product two years old!

To be quite honest I'm really pissed off about the whole thing. I hate electrical stuff. I haven't bought a new VCR even though the timer on ours no longer works, simply because I dread having to connect it all up. I'm totally ignorant, technically, I will happily admit to it. But I think the pleasure of being able to scan and e-mail photos is worth it in this case. I really hope when we get the new scanner, it works.

Keep your fingers crossed for me!


Stored nuts | Future acorns


-