"LIFE'S TOO SHORT TO EAT BAD NUTS"

current | archives | profile | notes | guestbook | photos | rings | contact | host

Perching here and gathering my thoughts ...

Top of the shit parade?

08 March 2004 ~ 00:57

Mark and I went round to my friend Gary�s place for dinner on Thursday night. Gary is one of my two oldest friends whom I�ve known for twenty years. He and I used to follow Duran Duran together in the �80s and danced the night away at many a nightclub up until a few years ago.

We got to reminiscing about the �good old days� and although I�m afraid it makes me sound like an old fogey, I have to say�music in the �80s and even �90s was just a league ahead of the crap that gets turned out today.

Our favourite band, Duran Duran, wrote all their own material and played their own instruments. They were just about as far removed from today�s �boy bands� as you can get. In fact, it seems incredible now to think that bands like Duran Duran and Erasure had few number one hits. Duran had only two in the UK��Is There Something I Should Know?� and �The Reflex.�

Singles chart sales at present are running at an all time low, and a record rarely stays in the top position for more than one week. Think back to when Bryan Adams stayed at no. 1 for 13 weeks with �Everything I Do.� That could never happen now. Fact is, the music just ain�t good enough.

It used to take sales of at least 200,000 to get to no. 1 in the UK. Now all it takes is 20,000. And all these �Pop Idol/American Idol� shows do not help matters. They just turn out more of the same crap, with image more important than talent. All most of the �lucky� winners of these shows can expect is a year of fame before they drift into obscurity.

Duran Duran are still producing music after 24 years. They recently sold out five nights at London�s Wembley Arena. I wonder how many of today�s �stars� will be doing so by 2028?

We shall see.


Stored nuts | Future acorns


-