"LIFE'S TOO SHORT TO EAT BAD NUTS"

current | archives | profile | notes | guestbook | photos | rings | contact | host

Perching here and gathering my thoughts ...

Animal passions

09 January 2003 ~ 15:35

If I had to choose my very favourite animal, I would be hard pushed. There are many animals species I absolutely adore. One of them is the raccoon. Unfortunately they don't live in Britain so I have never really seen one except on TV. The little 'bandit' mask and super furry coat are just delightful.

Of course, from my name no-one could doubt I love rodents. Rats are my chosen pet, but I'm also passionate about my squirrels, and I frequently go to the Flower Walk in Kensington Gardens to feed the very tame ones that live there. They come right up to you and stand on their hind legs begging for a snack. When you offer one, most of them take it out of your hand, touching you with their little paw as they do so. It's very endearing.

I really can't understand how anyone could not like squirrels, or how anyone could hurt them. I certainly don't think people should see the grey squirrel as a 'baddie' while the native British red is seen as the cuddly Squirrel Nutkins. I love all squirrels.

Reds are a lot rarer of course and their tufted ears in winter are very pretty. I've never seen them in the wild but I've seen them in Battersea Park Zoo's 'Red Squirrel Walk.' If you've never seen them either, check it out. They are a lot smaller than greys; more the size of a medium rat.

I'll let you into a couple of squirrelly secrets. Firstly, I have a collection of cuddly squirrel soft toys, numbering about thirty or more. They sit on the sofa in our bedroom, in a place of honour, along with our raccoons, foxes, rats and mice and a few other chosen favourites. I also have a squirrel fursuit. Yep, an adult size squirrel costume! (You could say I'm nuts!) Whatsmore I'm a proud member of The Squirrel Lovers Club.

Maybe one day I'll be lucky enough to have a pet squirrel to love. Until then I'll just have to practise my passion for the little cuties in these other ways.

As we squirrels say, 'May your drey be full of nuts!'


Stored nuts | Future acorns


-