"LIFE'S TOO SHORT TO EAT BAD NUTS"

current | archives | profile | notes | guestbook | photos | rings | contact | host

Perching here and gathering my thoughts ...

What is the point of 'starters?'

18 December 2002 ~ 14:27

Yesterday I went for Christmas lunch with my colleagues from the office. We went to an Italian place called Bella Pasta. It was a set menu and I had mushrooms and crusty bread for starters, vegetable lasagne for my main course and chocolate cake for dessert.

Believe me, to describe myself as stuffed afterwards would be an understatement! I could hardly waddle back to work.

When I got home, my husband had retired to bed, having been for Christmas lunch himself and feeling none too great after three courses and a few glasses of wine. Even this morning he described himself as �having a brick in my stomach!�

Which leads me to my main point (At last!) Why do restaurants offer customers �starters?� Sometimes called �appetisers� this seems to be a contradiction in terms as by the time you�ve eaten it, it�s spoiled your appetite for the rest of the meal. It can make the difference between pleasant fullness and feeling sickly bloated!

I myself much prefer to start with the main course thus leaving room for the pudding, but then I always feel the need for something sweet after something savoury. So two courses are nice; three just seems plain greedy!


Stored nuts | Future acorns


-