"LIFE'S TOO SHORT TO EAT BAD NUTS"

current | archives | profile | notes | guestbook | photos | rings | contact | host

Perching here and gathering my thoughts ...

Steven's gift to me

25 May 2006 ~ 17:24

At lunchtime, I found a twenty pound note on the ground near the Barker's Arcade in Kensington High Street. I was just thinking how I'd love this beautiful dress I had seen in Monsoon and how I really shouldn't but should instead wait for the sale. It is �135.

Well, I was on the mobile phone to Mum at the time. I told her and she said Steven (my brother) must have 'put' it there! So I went straight to Monsoon and bought the dress after putting �20 cash to it (so only had to pay �115 on my card)! Mum said Steven would have really wanted me to have the dress I loved for my cousin's civil partnership evening reception because her family will all be there. Do you know, I really believe Steven did somehow arrange for me to find that money!

But this is far from the first time Steven has 'struck.' The Christmas before last, I found a twenty pound note on the floor of The Glades shopping centre in Bromley, and I told Mum 'I just got my Christmas present from Steven.' He left four cans of Stella Artois beer in a chest-of-drawers outside our hotel room in Brussels three years ago, which Mum and the dragon (Mark) really enjoyed. Most amusingly of all, when we were in Amsterdam the first time, Steven left a clean, unused joint on the pavement outside our hotel which Mark found as he was pondering whether or not to try out the semi-legal cannabis; my brother liked a joint himself. It was almost like he was saying, 'Go on Mark, try it - you'll love it!' They had only met a couple of times before Steven killed himself but I know they'd have been great pals.


Stored nuts | Future acorns


-