"LIFE'S TOO SHORT TO EAT BAD NUTS"

current | archives | profile | notes | guestbook | photos | rings | contact | host

Perching here and gathering my thoughts ...

Les femmes fran�aises sont plus mince

24 July 2004 ~ 20:04

We just got back from another weekend away in Nice on Monday night. The weather was terrific and we had a great time, despite Mark having to fly back a day early due to work commitments.

On Monday afternoon, Mum and I went clothes shopping along the Avenue Jean Mecedin and Nice Etoile shopping centre. However, I came back completely empty-handed even though the whole avenue is chock full of shops including a Galleries Lafayette department store. Our feet were killing us but I could not find a single thing I liked that fit me!

I am a UK size 16 (US 12 or French 44) and do not think of myself as particularly huge, but evidently, compared to French women, I am! In one shop I even got stuck halfway in and halfway out of a dress, and I think I'd still be there if my mum hadn't helped me take it off!

One thing is for sure: If I lived in France I'd be a lot better off because I wouldn't be able to buy so many clothes. Imagine that - being overweight would be a virtue!


Stored nuts | Future acorns


-