"LIFE'S TOO SHORT TO EAT BAD NUTS"

current | archives | profile | notes | guestbook | photos | rings | contact | host

Perching here and gathering my thoughts ...

Twiggy The Waterskiing Squirrel

31 August 2006 ~ 14:07

Mark, Mum & I just got back from Chicago yesterday where we went to visit our friends Gregg & Kathy who run The Squirrel Lovers Club.

The queues at Heathrow going out were horrendous. An hour to check-in and an hour for security. The queue went right round the terminal. We were allowed one small rucksack on the plane but your handbag must fit inside it. You are not allowed any kind of make-up even solid eyeshadow. Coming back at O'Hare there were zero queues. Heathrow really needs to get its act together!

We had a blast. I got to see Twiggy the Waterskiing Squirrel at a boat show in Michigan City and met her owner Lou Ann. Twiggy was a doll, a very petite, old squirrel (11 years) who let me pet, cuddle and kiss her (it's like I've lived all my life for that moment lol) and I had the honour of being bitten by Twiglet, the next Twiggy-in-waiting. We also got to hold a tiny three-week-old baby squirrel that Lou Ann is hand feeding.

We went into Chicago on Monday but it poured down all day so we didn't get to walk around Millenium Park or show my mum Lake Michigan like we hoped. We did pop into Marshall Fields, Chicago's most famous deptartment store, which our friend Kathy wanted to see one last time before it becomes Macys in a week.

The hotel we stayed at (The Holiday Inn, Elmhurst, IL) had a water park which we visited during our stay. It was great! You could float round and round in a loop in the current on these inflatable rings and the water was only 2 feet 6 inches, there were jets of water you'd go under every so far along (you shoulda heard my mum screaming when she went under the big one lol) and 2 water slides (one to shoot down on your ring, one without). I tried the narrower slide because I was afraid I'd come off the ring and OMG it was terrifying! The tube's completely closed off and opaque, you come out of the hotel and round and then back in and shoot into a pool of water. I daren't open my eyes because I had contacts in so I'm standing there, nose, ears and mouth full of water with my eyes squeezed shut screaming for Nightdragon to go and fetch my towel while the lifeguard told me to move out of the way of the chute. I only did it once! Mark did it about 8 times.

One interesting thing I learnt: They don't sell long-life milk in the US (the store clerks had never even heard of it)! This is Twiggy's official website: http://www.skiingsquirrel.com


Stored nuts | Future acorns


-