"LIFE'S TOO SHORT TO EAT BAD NUTS"

current | archives | profile | notes | guestbook | photos | rings | contact | host

Perching here and gathering my thoughts ...

I want an American passport

16 August 2003 ~ 23:10

If you marry a Frenchman, you automatically gain French citizenship (after a year anyway�they may be changing it to two). But you don't have to live in France at all. There are other countries where it is equally easy to obtain citizenship through marriage.

Not so in the U.S. or U.K. For both countries, you have to first obtain a visa to go there�to prove you won't be a burden on the state, blah blah�then become a permanent resident for three years, before you can apply for naturalization�for which you have to prove you're of good character. So that's me out haha! In the US, you have to make an oath renouncing prior allegiancies, which I don't think I could do anyway. It'd be like telling Britain to go screw itself.

Now do you know why I crave an American passport? Is it the prestige? The fact that the US is the most powerful, successful country in the world?

Well, no actually, it's because I think the passport looks so good. Blue�a novelty to a British passport holder as theirs are burgandy�with a lovely, majestic eagle embossed in gold on the cover, legs purposefully astride. Often when we are travelling I'll ask Mark to get his passport out so I can admire it.

Then again, the U.K. passport is pretty cool too, and I'd really like an Aussie passport, which is similar to a British one, but blue with a kangeroo and an emu instead of a lion and a unicorn. I've seen a French passport, and the design wasn't very inspiring (no animals). Mark has seen Canadian passports and says they're pretty bland too.

Hey, anyone know how I can get joint British, U.S. and Australian citizenship?


Stored nuts | Future acorns


-