"LIFE'S TOO SHORT TO EAT BAD NUTS"

current | archives | profile | notes | guestbook | photos | rings | contact | host

Perching here and gathering my thoughts ...

Vegetarianism NOT a �fad�

07 November 2003 ~ 12:05

On a forum that I frequent, someone recently had the audacity to call vegetarianism a �fad.�

Bloody cheek. Not only is that a stupid comment, it is also a ridiculous one. I have been a vegetarian for nigh on twenty years and have no intention, ever, of going back to eating meat. The idea is quite preposterous.

Not only will most current veggies remain so, but there are more and more either becoming veggie or being brought up veggie. Hubby and I don�t have children, but my sister has brought up her son as a vegetarian. He is now 13, bright, healthy and usually top of his class. Not eating meat or fish has clearly done him no harm whatsoever.

My sister-in-law Tanya became vegetarian a few months ago. I�m very proud of her for this, and glad to say that she has actually found it a whole lot easier than she thought it would be.

It tends to be less common for men to go vegetarian, and needless to say most of the pro-meat posters on the forum thread were men. However, there certainly are male vegetarians. When I got married I asked my husband if he would give up meat if he could still eat fish, and he agreed. I know that�s not a true vegetarian, but when I first got to know him, hubby was one of the traditionalist �men need meat� brigade, so it�s progress indeed that he now feels perfectly happy not to eat meat.

There have been vegetarians for hundreds of years, but it is only recently that vegetarianism has really become popular, and it is getting more so every year.

If you want to label certain diets as fads, look no further than things like the Atkins Diet. But vegetarianism (and veganism) are here to stay, and one day, maybe in hundreds of years time, I truly believe it will be the meat-eaters who are in the minority.


Stored nuts | Future acorns


-