"LIFE'S TOO SHORT TO EAT BAD NUTS"

current | archives | profile | notes | guestbook | photos | rings | contact | host

Perching here and gathering my thoughts ...

Weekend at Mum's

05 July 2005 ~ 15:00

Nightdragon is away in Boston at the moment. He missed his original flight at 6.05pm but was issued with a standby ticket for the 10.55am flight the next day at no extra cost. Fortunately they found a seat for him so he flew out last Thursday.

I decided to visit my mum for the weekend to save being on my own. I took the train which only takes one hour ten minutes. She met me at the station.

We went to have a drink at a Spanish/Mexican type bar we sometimes go to called Que Pasa? Then we went shopping. I bought a nice khaki wrapover dress for only �14 (about $25). Then we went back to Mum's house and sat outside for a bit, and ate our dinner out there.

Mum's garden is lovely. It's very private on all sides with many perennials that flower every summer and give it a very 'cottagey' feel. Added to that are several pots filled with flowers, scattered around, and a nice stone bird bath and wooden bird table. The birds love to visit her garden.

On Sunday we took a walk down to the supermarket Asda, which is owned by Walmart and sells a lot more than just groceries. The walk was nice because it was a sunny day. Mum bought a DVD player and two garden loungers, and we took them back by taxi. They are fully reclinable and thickly padded and when we tested them out they were incredibly comfortable. You could honestly go to sleep on them.

After dinner I took the train back to London. I was glad to be going back to the girls but envious of Mum that she could lay out on her new sunbed the next day while I was working!


Stored nuts | Future acorns


-