"LIFE'S TOO SHORT TO EAT BAD NUTS"

current | archives | profile | notes | guestbook | photos | rings | contact | host

Perching here and gathering my thoughts ...

Going wild in the woods

21 August 2006 ~ 14:01

We just had a great weekend in Canterbury where we visited an attraction called Wild Wood.

I had the afternoon off work on Friday and met Mark in Bromley about 2.30pm and we had lunch in the Slug & Lettuce, then caught the train to Canterbury and took a cab to our hotel, The Ebury. It's a lovely old building with only 29 bedrooms, huge gardens, a few self-catering bungalows and a pool room. Our room was very nice and overlooked the gardens.

We dumped our bags and walked into the city. Mark bought me a really great Jacquard squirrel door stop from the Cathedral shop for my birthday (made of material and which I'll put with my plush squirrel collection). I saw a pigeon I was worried about. He didn't seem able to fly and was just standing near a shop window. He let me pick him up and we moved him into a corner and gave him some food.

We walked around a bit then went to have a glamous dinner in Pizza Hut lol. About 6.30pm we went back to the hotel and swum in the pool. Unfortunately the spa pool wasn't working. Then we settled down to watch 'Taggart' in bed.

On Saturday we got up, had a nice cooked veggie breakfast and set off to Canterbury bus station. We caught a 6X bus to Wild Wood. We actually rung the bell too late and had to get off at the stop after Wild Wood and walk back, with no pathway!

Wild Wood was amazing. I got in free as I'm a member, and the lady assistant suggested I change my membership to joint for an extra 50p a month, thus saving Mark �8.50 to get in.

Some of the animals weren't visible but we saw the wild boar, deer, two polecats playing rough-and-tumble, a pine martin, one little red squirrel dozing on top of his nest box, wolves, a lynx, a wild cat (looks just like a domestic tabby but slightly bigger with a thicker tail), black rats, brown rats, harvest mice, three badgers curled up together asleep in their underground set (that you can see through glass), water voles, ravens, otters, owls and herons.

The animals we didn't see were the weasels, stoats, red foxes, arctic foxes, coypu and beavers. In fact the beaver lodge was temporarily closed. My favourites were the wild boar, polecats and water voles. They have a cafe and a gift shop. We had a drink in the cafe and I bought three plush squirrels for the collection. I wanted to stay until 3pm to meet the wild boar but Mark wanted to go, so we caught the bus back to Canterbury.

We had lunch at a 15th century pub called The Three Tuns and I shopped in New Look much to Mark's chagrin because I kept him waiting Then we went back to the hotel and napped for a couple of hours. We got up about 7pm and went swimming (this time the spa pool was working), ordered dinner in the room and watched TV.

Sunday we had breakfast, sat in the garden a while then caught a taxi back to the station. I do recommend the hotel.


Stored nuts | Future acorns

-