"LIFE'S TOO SHORT TO EAT BAD NUTS"

current | archives | profile | notes | guestbook | photos | rings | contact | host

Perching here and gathering my thoughts ...

Fresh air freaks

29 December 2002 ~ 18:38

I hate to be a moany old cow, but people who have to use public transport usually have quite a few reasons to complain.

Neither myself nor my husband drive. Which isn't too bad because in London there is a comprehensive transport system. I realise this when I go to visit my mum in the wilds of Grantham, Lincolnshire, where there are no buses after 6pm, and no buses on Sundays or bank holidays. In London we have 'Night Buses' that run all through the early hours!

Anyway, on to my latest whinge: bus windows open on buses. Fair enough on hot, sticky summer days, but in winter? Even on mildish days it's inclined to create more of a cold draught than a gentle breeze. What's more annoying is that the people who are sitting by the open window are not the ones getting the icy blast, it's the poor mugs sitting behind them at the back of the bus. Yet you don't like to ask them if you can close it, because of course they can say no.

I remember once me and my husband were on a bus and it was cold with one of the windows open. So I asked the couple sitting by it if I could close it. The man said no, they needed the fresh air. Well, that infuriated me, so I sat down again and proceeded to tell my husband in a loud voice how he probably needed the window open 'cos he stank! When we got off Mark leaned toward the man and said, sarcastically, 'Enjoy the fresh air!'

His face was a picture!


Stored nuts | Future acorns


-