"LIFE'S TOO SHORT TO EAT BAD NUTS"

current | archives | profile | notes | guestbook | photos | rings | contact | host

Perching here and gathering my thoughts ...

Eighty-three shopping days �til Christmas!

02 October 2003 ~ 19:25

Well, the shops are starting to fill up with cards and Christmas crackers, paper and decorations, even though we�ve still got Halloween and Bonfire Night before then (and Thanksgiving for Americans). Christmas seems to get earlier and earlier every year. Harrods usually opens its �Christmas Shop� in August or September and by next month we�ll no doubt all be forced to listen to Wham�s �Last Christmas� and other Yuletide classic hits every time we walk into a shop

But really, I can�t complain, because I�m just as bad! I am actually almost done with my Xmas shopping! Yep, I�ve got my cards, plain and personalised (the plain ones have Merry Xmas in Welsh as well as English!); I�ve got my mum�s presents�a silk snowdrop in a glass holder, a nail polish set and a British wildlife calendar; my mother-in-law�s (can�t say what as she reads this!); my sister-in-law�s�a pair of kitty slippers and a wildlife calendar; my hubby�s grandmother�also a silk snowdrop; one of my friend�s�a nail polish set � and that leaves just a couple of friends and hubby himself. Hubby is going to get his dad a book gift voucher when he goes back to Boston on 26 December.

So once I�ve got the few remaining gifts and some decent wrapping paper (who designs the stuff?�I could design better than most!) I�ll be all set. I absolutely loathe last minute dashes to get gifts and in any case, you can never get anything decent when you are looking. So I always start keeping my eyes open from September onwards, and if I see anything, well just I�ll get it and put it by.

Bet I�m about the only person who looks forward to Christmas shopping, eh?


Stored nuts | Future acorns


-