"LIFE'S TOO SHORT TO EAT BAD NUTS"

current | archives | profile | notes | guestbook | photos | rings | contact | host

Perching here and gathering my thoughts ...

Zoo 'coons in Amsterdam

12 October 2005 ~ 23:52

Hubby and I celebrated our seventh wedding anniversary last Monday. We were in Amsterdam and went to Artis Zoo. I highly recommend it to anyone visiting Amsterdam.

They had raccoons, which I adore, so I was in ecstacy. There was a little group of seven of them in a really nice habitat with trees and a little stream. One had a bad front paw and was trotting arounding holding it up in the air, but he managed on three legs. Another one kept shinning up the tree. He looked just like a little bear climbing.

Interestingly enough, the Dutch for raccoon is 'wasbeer' and beer means bear.

Bless them, they really are such beautiful animals.


Stored nuts | Future acorns


-