"LIFE'S TOO SHORT TO EAT BAD NUTS"

current | archives | profile | notes | guestbook | photos | rings | contact | host

Perching here and gathering my thoughts ...

Pirates of the Caribbean premiere

09 July 2006 ~ 21:00

On Monday 3rd July I went to the Pirates of the Caribbean 2: Dead Man's Chest premiere at the Odeon Leicester Square with a colleague from work, Kimayne, to try and see Johnny Depp. Unfortunately we didn't get that close though. We should really have taken the afternoon off and got there much earlier.

We got there at 6pm. We waited ages hoping they would come out onto the balcony above the main entrance. There was a huge barrier up and you couldn't see over the top. I guess only those who got there really early were allowed in front of this barrier, behind smaller barriers, and that's where Johnny, Orlando Bloom & Keira Knightly came signing autographs. There was a big screen up that you could watch it on. They did eventually come out on to the balcony so I got to see him but he was small and far off. I wanted to stay to see him come out but I thought they'll either sneak him out of the back or they'll keep the barriers up and he won't stop to sign on the way out. My feet were killing me anyway. There were so many people, it was ridiculous. Kimayne asked a lady with tickets how she got them. She replied that she had just written to Buena Vista. I might do that for Pirates 3 when it comes out next year.

This is one of the photos Kimayne took with her super duper digital camera. I did take some with my 35mm camera which has a big zoom (160mm) but I don't know that it might have focused on the mobiles and cameras people were holding up as these kind of cameras tend to focus on whatever is closest to them.

Wish I had known what hotel he was at/what flight he was on back to the States hee hee! I met Duran Duran many times at hotels/Heathrow Airport in the 1980s and it was brilliant because there were only a few of us and you could get to really speak to them and take great photos. That's how I want to meet Johnny, not at some crazy premiere with the world and his brother!





Stored nuts | Future acorns


-