"LIFE'S TOO SHORT TO EAT BAD NUTS"

current | archives | profile | notes | guestbook | photos | rings | contact | host

Perching here and gathering my thoughts ...

A close shave for Autumn

23 November 2005 ~ 11:26

I think nightdragon has told all about Autumn's lump and how we booked her in to have it removed 22nd November.

Well, yesterday was the big day. Nightdragon dropped Autumn off at the vets at 9 o'clock and I waited anxiously for a call at work to say she was fine.

The vet, Louise, rang me about 11.30 to let me know that the surgery went well and she was coming round fine. She described the lump as 'quite nasty' so I expect it was cancer, though testing would have cost �40 (about $70-80) so we opted not to get it tested. Hopefully we caught it before it spread though. Crossed finger, prayers etc all appreciated.

Mark collected Autumn at 5pm. They had put a sort of sticking plaster around hear head covering her ears. Poor thing she hated it. I had not wanted any kind of collar because it upset Sky so much when she had her operation. So we took the decision to cut it off. She was so brave, not a squeak out of her even though the Band Aid had stuck to her skin and we had to peel it off. I'm sure she couldn't eat or drink properly when it was on because she went straight to the water bottle for a big drink.

I gave both rats some egg fried rice which they enjoyed very much. They did not come out at all last night. Summer stayed cuddled up close to her sister and I'm sure Autumn communicated to Summer that she had been through a traumatic experience and Summer was comforting her. Now Autumn has a course of antibiotics. We're just pleased to have her home safe.


Stored nuts | Future acorns


-