"LIFE'S TOO SHORT TO EAT BAD NUTS"

current | archives | profile | notes | guestbook | photos | rings | contact | host

Perching here and gathering my thoughts ...

Cuddling giant rats

17 September 2009 ~ 17:16

My sister came with me to the London Championship Show in Reading on Saturday, where there were all sorts of small animals - rabbits, guinea pigs, hamsters, mice, rats and gerbils. Even a few ducks.

There was a stand for the Exotic Keepers Forum and there were two gorgeous giant Gambian pouched rats, Halftail and Toby. Neither is fully grown, Halftail being five months and Toby three months.

Toby, Bless him, was in a tank with some other blue and black dumbo fancy rats with whom he grew up and is happy to cuddle with. There were even some African striped rats, foster brothers of the fancy rats, in with them!

I was lucky enough to be allowed to cuddle Toby. He's such a friendly boy and gave me plenty of kisses (licks on my lips). He smells nice, very much like ship rats (roof rats) do. Fancy rats on the other hand, do not really smell of anything.

Here I am enjoying Toby's company:





Stored nuts | Future acorns


-