"LIFE'S TOO SHORT TO EAT BAD NUTS"

current | archives | profile | notes | guestbook | photos | rings | contact | host

Perching here and gathering my thoughts ...

Un-leash-ing my opinion

20 May 2008 ~ 13:42

You know, whenever I see someone walking a dog who is wearing a collar and lead, I can't help feeling a little sorry for the pooch. To me, it just seems rather undignified and uncomfortable to be pulled along by the neck. My personal preference, and what I'd use if I had a dog, is a harness with lead. A harness that fits around the dog's body spreads the pressure around, and, call me crazy, smacks of care and guidance rather that the slavery that being dragged along by the neck evokes.

When I was a toddler, my mum had me on baby reins. She said it was much safer for me than holding my hand. Invariably an adult sometimes has to momentarily let go of a child's hand, during which time an excited toddler could run off and try to cross the road, whereas reins can be looped around the wrist.

We have a harness for our bunny Molly and recently took her out in the park wearing it. She loved it and had absolutely no problem letting me put it on. Guide dogs wear harnesses so it must be the best way to walk along with a dog. They may be more expensive than a traditional collar and leash, but in my opinion, worth it for your dog's comfort and safety.


Stored nuts | Future acorns


-