"LIFE'S TOO SHORT TO EAT BAD NUTS"

current | archives | profile | notes | guestbook | photos | rings | contact | host

Perching here and gathering my thoughts ...

Childhood reminisces

19 August 2003 ~ 11:38

Although I hate the fact that I will be 39 next month, I'm not at all sorry that I did my growing up in the '70s. I do admit to feeling nostalgic for the television programmes I avidly watched as a child, which, had I been younger, I'd have missed out on.

One of my all time favourites, which I have on video, is the puppet series The Clangers, a British kids' show featuring knitted creatures that lived on a planet looking not unlike the moon. They had pointed faces like possums and spoke to each other in whistles.

Then there was Tales of the Riverbank, an everyday story of river-dwelling animals Hammy the hamster, Roderick Rat and GP the guinea pig. It was narrated by the late Johnny Morris, and the animals used were real animals! I have those on video too. I especially loved it when it showed Roderick and Hammy in Roderick's little boat, or GP and Hammy in GP's little car!

Scooby Doo was, and still is, in my opinion, a classic cartoon. My favourite character was Shaggy, a hippy dude, a coward, a scruff and a dog lover. He was so cool! Not goody-goody like Fred who looked like his pants were too tight! OK, it was predictable and you always knew there was no real ghost, that it was just the caretaker faking it to get the hidden loot, but then, that was the beauty of it�it always followed the same forumla!

Catch the Pigeon was another great! I can actually do the Mutley snicker! My favourite line from that 'toon has to be "MUTLEY, DO SOMETHING!" The pigeon always got away, thank goodness!

I can hardly list all the other brilliant kiddies TV programmes from yesteryear, but I'll mention some: The Doubledeckers, Tom & Jerry, The Muppets, Chorlton and the Wheelies, Rainbow, Pipkins, Top Cat, The Flintstones, The Banana Splits, The Herbs, Hector's House, The Magic Roundabout, Rhubarb & Custard, Mary, Mungo and Midge...

Yes, there are a few good kids' shows around nowadays, such as Angelina Ballerina, and Don't Eat The Neighbours ("Big Teeth, Bad Breath" to Canadians). But nothing will ever beat the children's shows of the '70s for me.


Stored nuts | Future acorns


-