"LIFE'S TOO SHORT TO EAT BAD NUTS"

current | archives | profile | notes | guestbook | photos | rings | contact | host

Perching here and gathering my thoughts ...

Roach regrets

17 November 2008 ~ 13:49

We've had a bit of a problem in the last week or so. An unwanted visitor has tried to set up home in our kitchen.

I first spotted a strange insect just over a week ago and immediately called Mark into the kitchen, excited that I had found an 'interesting' insect. To my horror, he knew right away that it was a cockroach! Now, I quite like cockroaches kept as pets, the Madagasgan hissing type. They are large and black and a bit beetle-like. This one was brown with long feelers.

The roach quickly scampered under the cooker hob (it's a fitted cooker) and disappeared. We didn't see him again for six days. That time, I put the light on and he again ran under the cooker hob. I went back to bed but couldn't settle with the thought of him running around, so I went back in and put the light on again. There he was!

I chased him around the cupboard doors and eventually managed to get him in a tea towel. I'm ashamed to say I killed him. I feel really bad about it.

Mark said afterwards that he'd have done the same and I had no choice. If I had, somehow, managed to put him outside without him escaping, he'd have immediately scuttled his way in again, or else he'd have died of the cold. But I still feel terrible.

However, the thought that there may be more roaches where he came from fills me (and Mark) with dread. We wonder if he came from the caf� downstairs. Perhaps they don't store their rice and flour securely enough. I've mentioned out little guest to the owner and she denied having a problem. I've lived there 14 years and never seen a roach in the flat before.

I really hope this is the last we see of roaches.


Stored nuts | Future acorns


-