"LIFE'S TOO SHORT TO EAT BAD NUTS"

current | archives | profile | notes | guestbook | photos | rings | contact | host

Perching here and gathering my thoughts ...

�Sno business like snow business!

07 January 2003 ~ 11:43

When I woke up this morning and opened the curtains, I was surprised to see a reasonable covering of snow; more than an inch, in fact. It was thicker on the rooftops and on cars, but even on the ground it was a decent amount.

We don�t get snow very often here in London. Maybe once or twice a year, sticking around a couple of days each time. Or � more likely � we get a mere powdering, which has melted away by later the same day. When I was a kid it seemed to snow much more often, and more dramatically. I actually remember going sledding as a 7- or 8-year-old, but then I did live in Yorkshire at the time � in the northern wilds! Nowadays snow is something to be commented on.

Not like in Boston where Mark comes from. There, they still get feet of snow, not inches! They even have snow days, when schools and businesses close due to the adverse weather conditions. I can�t remember the last time that happened here.

It is strange when you consider that London is on the same latitude as Canada, whereas Boston is the same as Barcelona, Spain. (Although, if you compare our mild summers with their hot, humid ones, you begin to see the logic.) I don�t know much about meteorology, but I�m sure that those of you who do could explain that it�s something to do with us being a small island.

Anyway, this morning, when I arrived in South Kensington, where I work, I was just as surprised to see that there was no snow on the ground whatsoever here, although there were a few flakes coming down. Of course, the temperature is usually a little higher in the capital, and our place in the south-eastern suburbs is on very high ground.

All in all, although I don�t normally miss the snow if we have a winter without it, this time I quite liked seeing it. You have to admit it is a pretty sight � one of nature�s wonders. As long as there�s no ice to slip up on, I�ll put my boots on and happily go out in it. Heck, it�s not even that cold!


Stored nuts | Future acorns


-