"LIFE'S TOO SHORT TO EAT BAD NUTS"

current | archives | profile | notes | guestbook | photos | rings | contact | host

Perching here and gathering my thoughts ...

Honouring �the Gipper,� fellow squirrel lover

06 June 2004 ~ 18:22

I don�t know much about American politics or the presidency of the now-deceased Ronald Reagan (except that it seemed to mirror and/or influence Margaret Thatcher�s governing of Britain), but I do know this�I wish the man happiness in the afterlife.

The best and most heart-warming thing about Reagan that I know is best expressed by an excerpt from columnist Maureen Dowd:

�When Ronald Reagan was president, he used to bring walnuts back from Camp David and feed them to the squirrels in the Rose Garden.

�He�d keep the walnuts in the bottom drawer of his desk, and in quiet times between meetings he�d open the patio doors and roll the nuts out onto the colonnade, and legions of squirrels would come jumping up.�

As a fellow squirrel lover, I can�t help but applaud that! It shows me that if we were to plumb the depths of Reagan�s soul, we�d find a happy, peaceful existence.

Reagan wasn�t by any means perfect. But he was good for America and good for the world.


Stored nuts | Future acorns


-