"LIFE'S TOO SHORT TO EAT BAD NUTS"

current | archives | profile | notes | guestbook | photos | rings | contact | host

Perching here and gathering my thoughts ...

Cool Yule!

25 December 2002 ~ 23:13

Christmas Day has been OK for me. We woke up about 12 and opened presents around the tree.

Mark got me a gold bracelet with the words 'I Love You' all around it, which I'm now wearing, and Snow Dogs on video which is a film I really enjoyed. My sister got me a really cute mug with a mouse pouring another mouse a human-sized glass of red wine, which says 'Mouse to Mouse resuscitation' on it. Too cute to use, so I've put it on display. My mum got me a stuffed toy stoat and a storage jar with a mouse on top sitting on a pile of biscuits.

Mum and Mark liked their gifts from me. And of course the animals; Stella and Luna, the rats, and Blackie, the bunny, loved their white chocolate Xmas shapes.

Mum cooked the Christmas dinner, of Quorn roast (a foodstuff manufactured from a relative of the mushroom), potato wedges, date and walnut stuffing, roasted parsnips, peas, carrots, cauliflower and broccoli. There was plenty left over for the pets and they enjoyed it immensely. Pudding was lemon cheesecake. Our neighbour had bought us a bottle of champagne so we drank that with lunch.

After watching Top of the Pops (not very good this year but then it hasn't been a very insipring year, musically,) we headed out to feed the waterfowl in Crystal Palace Park. You have to do so through the fence as that part of the park is not open at the moment. There were squirrels there and I had brought some monkey nuts and hazelnuts for them. To our suprise though, we actually saw a little wild rat so we fed him some of the nuts. He was really cute, just like a pet rat. I'll bet our girls would like to make his aquaintance!

When we got home I had to lie down and sleep for a couple of hours. Half a glass of champagne and I had a headache! Am I a lightweight or what? Thing is, I never usually drink. Not that I've anything against people who do, I just don't like the taste of it.

Tonight we watched EastEnders and Only Fools and Horses which were both very good. So that's my day. Mark is off to Boston tomorrow. I'll miss him. But I'm sure my aim will improve.


Stored nuts | Future acorns


-